M1911.ORG Visits Cabot Guns, LLC

By Steve Clark for M1911.ORG

Robert Bianchin, President and CEO of Cabot Guns, LLC, suggested to our El Comandante (John Caradimas), that an editor/writer for the M1911.ORG E-Zine should come to their facility in Western Pennsylvania. The primary purpose of this visit would be to show that editor the manufacturing techniques that set Cabot Guns apart from the rest of the 1911 makers in the world. I was fortunate enough to be selected for this assignment. “Fortunate” is the operative word, because although I have some passing knowledge of the terms Computer Numerical Control (CNC), Electrical Discharge Machining (EDM), and metal stamping and plating, I had very little practical experience with the machines involved. And to be perfectly honest, metal grinding (in my experience) was something we did to tools at the railroad!

Cabot Guns, LLC, was formed to brand and market the pistols made by Penn United Technologies Inc.

For a comprehensive over-view of Penn United Technologies, visit their web site at
http://www.pennunited.com/

The Tour of Penn United Technologies, Inc.

Cabot Guns and Penn United Technologies are located between the Boroughs of Saxonburg and Cabot, Pennsylvania. After my arrival at Pittsburgh International Airport, the GPS unit in my rental car failed. The result was a very circuitous route to my hotel in Saxonburg. A trip that normally takes a little over an hour stretched into a several hour journey. But the sheer beauty of that part of the United States more than made up for my frustration at being semi-lost.

Rob Bianchin met me at the Hotel Saxonburg, and we had dinner together and discussed the details of my visit. He suggested that a tour of the Penn United Technologies campus would enlighten me to the intricacies involved in the production of each Cabot Guns model.